The wide open spaces, gorgeous weather and strong economy are just a few of the many reasons that so many make the decision to move to Texas each year. If you’ve recently made the move to the Lone Star State, you’ll need to transfer your driver’s license in person.
When Do You Need to Transfer Your Out-of-State Driver’s License to Texas?
New Texas residents can legally drive here with either a valid out-of-state or Canadian provincial driver’s license for a maximum of 90 days from the day they move.
Texas state law requires that you apply for a Texas driver’s license before this 90-day grace period ends to ensure you’re driving with a valid license. Once you receive your Texas driver’s license, you are required to surrender your other license.
What Do I Need to Transfer My License to Texas?
As a new resident of Texas, you will need to ensure that you’ve completed the following three steps:
Step 1 – Get Insurance and have your vehicle inspected.
Step 2 – Get your vehicle registered.
Step 3 – Get your Texas state driver’s license.
Note: The above requirements do not apply to active duty members of the U.S. Armed Forces, or to non-resident students attending full-time programs at Texas colleges and universities.
Step 1 – Vehicle Inspection and Insurance
Bring your insurance card to one of several DPS (Department of Public Safety) inspection stations. These can be found at certified service stations, oil change locations, and mechanics shops.
To pass your inspection, you must provide evidence of valid insurance. Texas requires you to have a minimum of $30,000 and a maximum of $60,0000 coverage for injured persons. You must also carry $25,000 in coverage for property damage.
Step 2 – Texas Vehicle Registration
Registering your vehicle in Texas will require you to bring your proof of vehicle ownership, proof of inspection, and proof of insurance to a tax office in your local county. The following are acceptable types of ownership:
- Current foreign or military
- Foreign evidence of ownership
Out-of-state insurance is also acceptable; however, in order to verify coverage minimums, you will need to bring your entire policy document as well as your card. You will also need to bring a completed 130-U application form.
Step 3 – Getting Your Texas License
Getting your driver’s license transferred to Texas will require you to return to your local DPS office with the following items:
- Proof of Texas residency
- Your out-of-state license
- Original documents including SSN, current passport, birth certificate, or similar
- Insurance card and vehicle registration
You will also have to pass a vision test or bring proof in the form of an eye test report from a qualified individual. Please bring with you any contact lenses or eyewear needed for driving.
You will be issued a temporary license while you wait for your Texas license application to be processed, which can take several weeks.
Ticket School provides affordable, state-approved, and self-directed driving courses online from any device. Contact us to learn more about getting your Texas driver’s license from out of state with our defensive driving and drug and alcohol awareness programs.