Is this online course state approved?
Yes. Our website and Texas defensive driving online course is licensed and state approved by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) and formerly by the Texas Education Agency (TEA). Driver Training Associates, Inc. is approved as a course provider number (#CP-090) and our online school license for Ticketschool.com is C-1995. This ensures that the certificate that you receive from us upon successful completion of our defensive driving course will be accepted by courts statewide for tickets and by auto insurance companies offering defensive driving course discounts.
How long is the course?
All state approved defensive driving courses in Texas must be six hours long. The benefit of our online course is that you are not required to take all six hours in one sitting. Upon registration, you will receive a login code that allows you to log in and out as needed. The course will save your progress and pick back up where you last left off until you complete. You must complete the course within 180 days from your date of registration.
How much does it cost?
Our Texas defensive driving online course price is $25, which is the lowest price allowed by law. You will not a Texas state approved course anywhere else for less. Payment can be made using a debit or credit card (Visa, Mastercard, American Express, and Discover) online. Included in the $25 is a free electronic certificate of completion sent via email. The only additional cost would be if you choose to have your certificate sent via one of our mail or express delivery options: US Mail, 2-business day, standard overnight, priority overnight, or Saturday delivery).
How do I pay for the course?
Our website accepts payment via debit or credit card. We also accept debit or credit card payment over the phone by calling customer support at 1-800-558-9887.
If you choose to pay using any method other than debit or credit card online, we must process your payment before you will be given access into the course.
Does it have to be completed in one sitting?
No. Using the login code you received during registration, you can log in and out of the course at any time from any device with Internet access. The course will automatically save your progress and knows the furthest unit and page you have reached, so that you can pick up at that point the next time you log in. Your login code provides access into the course for 180 days, however the more important deadline is the one set by the court if you are taking the course for a ticket.
Can it be taken on a mobile device?
Yes. Our course is “mobile friendly,” so in addition to any PC or laptop computer, it can also be taken on the majority of tablets, smart phones, and/or other devices. Your device must have a fully functional internet. For laptop or desktop users, we recommend using the latest version of the Mozilla Firefox browser (Mac or PC) or Internet Explorer browser (32-bit, PC only). For mobile users we recommend using the default browser that comes installed with your device.
Can I take the course from multiple devices?
Yes. Our program is not software that has to be downloaded on one particular device. Once you have registered, you can log on to the course from any device that has access to the internet! So if you want to register on your home PC, and then later access the course via your tablet at your favorite coffee shop, that will work just fine. You can log into and out of the course whenever you wish.
Is there a final exam?
No, we do not have a final exam or test at the end of the course. Instead, the course has a quiz at the end of each unit. Each quiz is seven questions on the current unit. Each quiz is seven questions and you must score a 70% or greater to pass (must answer at least 5 correct). If you do not pass a quiz on the first attempt, you will be given two more opportunities with different questions.
Less than 1% of our Texas defensive driving course customers fail to pass. In the rare occasion that a failure occurs, you will be required to register and begin the course again from the beginning.
How quickly will I get my certificate of completion?
Certificates of completion are processed at various times during each business day (Monday through Friday, excluding holidays) depending on the delivery method chosen:
Email – emailed certificates are sent out at 10AM, 1PM, and 4PM CST on each business day. Weekend and holiday completions will be processed and sent out on the following business day.
US Mail or Express Delivery – certificates sent via the mail or express shipping are processed and sent out at 3PM CST on each business day. Weekend and holiday completions will be processed and sent out on the following business day.
IMPORTANT: Once you receive your certificate, we advise that you make a copy for your records. Remember, it is your responsibility to complete the course and present the completion certificate to the court before your court appointed deadline. Ticketschool does not notify the court or your insurance company of your completion.
Can I get my certificate express delivered?
Yes. You can choose this option during the registration process, however the State of Texas now allows certificates to be sent electronically via email. Ticketschool offers emailed certificates free of charge. The emailed delivery method is by far the quickest means to receive your certificate. If you do not have a printer or would still prefer us to print and send out a paper certificate we offer the following options for an additional charge that can be chosen during the registration process: US Mail, 2-business day, standard overnight, priority overnight, and Saturday delivery. Please note: Express shipments will NOT be delivered to P.O. boxes and are only delivered on weekdays unless you choose specifically request the Saturday option.
Can certificate be sent via email?
Yes! The State of Texas now allows us to send certificates of completion out via email. TicketSchool offers this service free of charge! Emailed certificates are sent are sent out at 10AM, 1PM, and 4PM CST on each business day. Weekend and holiday completions will be processed and sent out on the following business day.
What do I do with my completion certificate?
If you choose “Ticket Dismissal” as your reason for attendance, you will receive a two-part certificate of completion that contains an upper “COURT” portion that should be delivered to the court via their instructions before your deadline date, and the lower “INSURANCE” portion that can be presented to your insurance company or agent if they offer defensive driving discounts.
Note: Customers who select “Insurance Reduction” or “Business and Safety Training” as their reason for attendance will receive a single insurance / safety training certificate for presentation to their insurance provider or company representative. The insurance certificate will not be accepted by a Texas court for a ticket.
What should I do if I have not received my certificate or I need a duplicate copy?
Duplicate certificates can be requested by calling certificate support at 1-800-558-9887. There is a $10 fee for this service, however this fee will be waived if the duplicate request is made within 30 days from certificate issuance (as long as the original was not received) AND no changes must be made to the certificate.
Is this course approved for an insurance discount benefit in the state of Texas?
Many auto insurance providers do offer discounts for completing a state approved driving safety / defensive driving course (some offer as much as 10% for 3 years). Our course is approved by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) and the Texas Board of Insurance for this purpose, but participation varies by company, so it is important that you first contact your insurance agent or company representative for details prior to registration. If you are taking the course for insurance discount purposes only you should choose the reason code “Insurance Discount” at registration. The certificate that you receive for choosing this reason is only good for insurance discounts and will not be accepted by a court for a ticket. If you choose “Ticket Dismissal” as your reason for taking the course, you will receive a certificate that includes a “Court” portion to be turned in to the court and an “Insurance” portion that can be turned in to your insurance provider if they offer discounts. Taking a course for insurance purposes only does not prevent you from taking the course again in the future for a ticket.
Can I order a copy of my driving record with you too?
Yes. Most courts in Texas require that you turn in a certified copy of your Texas driving record when you turn in your completion certificate. The reason is that they want to make sure you haven’t taken a course in the past 12 months for a prior ticket. If you didn’t choose this option during registration, you will have the option to request that we order a copy of your driver record after you complete the course. Your driver record will be sent in the same delivery format as your completion certificate. If you chose email as the delivery method for your completion certificate, the driver record will come in a separate email after your certificate email. If you chose US mail or express delivery, the driver record will be included in the same envelope as your certificate.
Why doesn’t my driving record have my defensive driving course completion on it?
The purpose of the court asking for a certified copy of your driving record is to ensure that you have not taken defensive driving in the past 12 months for another ticket. Courts report your defensive driving course completion to the Texas Department of Public Safety after you met all of their requirements for your ticket, which includes turning in your defensive driving certificate. For this reason, you do not want any defensive driving course completions to be listed on your driving record within the 12 months preceding your ticket. The defensive driving course completion that you ordered the driving record for will not show on your driving record until you have turned in your completion certificate to the court.
What should I do if my employer has asked me to complete a defensive driving course?
If your employer or safety manager has asked you to complete a defensive driving program, select the “Business or Safety Training” option when you register for the course. After you successfully complete the course, the completion certificate that you receive can be turned in to your employer or safety manager. We also recommend that you make a copy of the “Business or Safety Training” completion certificate and turn it in to your personal auto insurance company if they offer defensive driving discounts. Please note: This certificate cannot be turned in to a court for a ticket.
Can I take your course if I don’t have a Texas driver’s license?
Yes, you can, but per State regulations to complete the course successfully, you will be required to submit a notarized identity validation affidavit.
What is your refund policy?
We offer a money back guarantee within 90 days from registration as long as you have not successfully completed the course or have been disqualified from the course due to identity validation or failed unit quizzes.
If you wish to cancel your registration or inquire about a refund, please contact customer support at 1-800-558-9887 between 9:00 AM and 5:00 PM Monday through Friday, excluding holidays.
What do I need to do if I lose or forget my login name?
When you register for the course, you will receive your login name (example: John123456tex). If you happen to lose or forget this information, you can have it resent to you via email by entering your email address into the “I forgot my login” box on our login page and clicking the “Remind me” button. You can also call technical support at 1-800-558-9887.
What is TicketSchool.com’s mailing address?
6536 Greatwood Parkway, Ste. C
Sugar Land, TX 77479
When are customer / technical support available?
We have friendly and helpful support representatives available for phone support from 9AM to 5PM CST Monday through Friday (excluding Holidays). We also have email support via the site as well. For assistance, please call 1-800-558-9887.