How does the online Defensive Driving Course work?
Our online Louisiana defensive driving course is all about convenience. The course is available 24 /7 from any internet-enabled device. It consists of six units, and takes roughly six hours to complete in its entirety. You can register on your own and pay with a debit or credit card on the site to get immediate access to your course. You DO NOT have to be online on a particular day or time. The course is available whenever and from wherever you choose, and it will automatically save your progress as you go. You can log in and out of the course as many times as needed and you have 180 days to complete. Once you complete the course, a PDF certificate is made available for immediate download / printing so that you can turn the certificate in to the appropriate authority (court, insurance company, etc.).
Taking our Louisiana defensive driving course online offers unmatched convenience and flexibility. It is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week from anywhere you have internet access and from any device that has internet access (including smartphones). Some of the benefits of an online course include:
Complete the course from any location that you find most comfortable or convenient (home, on the go, coffee bar, etc.)
Take as much or as little of the course as you choose each time you log in
HD quality videos that are up-to-date
Immediate PDF certificate download upon completion
Quality and professional customer support if needed
Our online Louisiana defensive driving course (a.k.a. Louisiana driver improvement course), has the following components:
Content Verification: To test your knowledge of the material, there is a short multiple-choice test at the end of the course. You receive an unlimited number of attempts to receive a passing score.
ID Verification: Our course uses Identity Verification Questions to ensure that the person who registers is the one who is taking the course. You will be required to answer ten ID questions (yes / no) as part of the course registration process. The system will save your answers, and then require you to answer one of the ID questions at random points in the course. The answer you provide during the course must match the answer you gave at registration.
If you answer three ID questions incorrectly, you will be required to start a new course. Should this occur, the new course is provided for free.
Electronic Completion Certificate (PDF): At the completion of the course, you will be provided with an electronic PDF certificate that you can download / save / print as needed. We DO NOT report or send the completion to the court for you. It is your responsibility to take the certificate that we provide to you and deliver it to the court before any deadlines per their instructions.
180-day limit: You must complete the course within 180 days of registration.
Court Approved – Our company has the approval of many courts in parishes all over Louisiana. If your court isn’t listed as approved, just reach out and ask them if you can complete the TicketSchool.com 6-hour Louisiana defensive driving course online for your ticket.
History – We have been proudly training drivers all across the U.S. for over 45 years! We are a company you can trust and are proud to offer research proven effective courses to truly make you a safer driver.
Top Quality Content – Learn everything you need to be ready for the road, including road signs, lane markings, Louisiana driving laws, and other defensive driving strategies.
You can pay with any major debit or credit card (Visa, MC, Discover, and AMEX) via our encrypted and secure portal that is part of the course registration process. You will receive immediate access to the course after your payment has been received.
The most common reason to complete our online defensive driving course is to dismiss a ticket you received while driving through Louisiana. While it depends on the severity of the ticket received and on your driving record, most courts will allow you the option of completing a Louisiana driver improvement course (a.k.a. defensive driving course) and turning in the certificate before a certain date to have a traffic ticket dismissed. It is important that you follow the instructions on the ticket or the paperwork provided by the officer who gave you the ticket to find out whether the defensive driving course is an option available to you. If so, you will also want to ask: 1) whether you can complete an online course; and 2) whether the TicketSchool.com Louisiana defensive driving online course will be accepted by the court. Once permission is granted and any applicable court fees are paid, you will be given a deadline by which you must complete the course and turn in your completion certificate to the court. Failure to turn in your certificate by the deadline will typically result in the ticket going on your record, and/or a warrant being issued.
While most drivers complete the Louisiana defensive driving course for a traffic ticket, many also take the course for a discount on their auto insurance. A number of auto insurance providers offer discounts for voluntarily completing a course. The amount of the discount and participation may vary, so we suggest that you contact your insurance agent / company to learn more about their discount programs.