Taking the online Florida Advanced Driver Improvement (ADI) course available at Ticketschool.com is a great option for a wide variety of people in a number of different circumstances. We want to make the process as simple and straightforward as possible so what follows is a basic overview of what to expect when taking the Florida ADI course.
Registering and paying for the ADI course is Fast and Easy!
Registering for the Florida ADI course online with Ticket School is fast and easy. Registration can be done completely online from the links on this page and will only take a few minutes. When you go to the first page of the registration form you will see a section regarding your reason for attending the course. For example you may be required to attend as part of a judge- or court-order, because you have a suspended or revoked license, in order to obtain a hardship license, or because you have been designated as a habitual traffic offender (HTO). Simply select the reason that applies to you. Remember, however, that the ADI course is not a DUI course and will not qualify for that offense.
After finishing the registration process you will be taken to a payment screen. Ticket School accepts all major credit and debit cards. Your payment information will be kept completely secure using encrypted SSL technology. You will also notice an option allowing you to pay an extra fee in order to receive a digital copy of your ADI enrollment letter. Your enrollment letter for an ADI course is needed when applying for a Florida hardship license. If you select the electronic version and pay the extra fee you will receive a digital copy that can be immediately downloaded and printed to avoid delays in applying for a hardship license. If you do not want to apply for a hardship license or do not need to do so right away you can have the enrollment letter sent to you via postal mail at no additional cost.
Taking the ADI Course
After registering for the Florida ADI course you will be given a unique login code that will allow you to work on the course any time of the day or night from any computer, laptop, smartphone, tablet, or other internet-connected device. You are welcome to work on the course from multiple devices and can pick up where you left off on the previous device. You are also free to login as often or as many times as you would like.
The course will involve a variety of different content such as videos and animations, reading, and study questions. The study questions will require a minimum 50-word response and will be evaluated by a real person, so make sure to take your time and do your best. After you have completed the course and all study questions have been approved you will then be eligible to receive your ADI certificate of completion based on the delivery method and timeframe of your choosing.
The ADI course is required by state law to take a minimum of 12 hours to complete. Of these 12 hours only 10.5 hours are actual instruction time. The remaining hour and a half is for mandatory breaks. Each hour of instruction includes a mandatory 10-minute break. There is also a mandatory 24-hour break after your first 6 hours of instruction. This 24-hour break is not included in the 12-hour minimum course time calculation. Thus the absolute fastest the course can be completed is 36 hours: 6 hours of course time, a 24-hour break, and 6 more hours of course time. The 24-hour waiting period between 6-hour segments is required by the Florida DMV and cannot be reduced or eliminated.
However, there is no limit on how long it takes you to complete the ADI course, as long as you finish by your completion deadline date as ordered by the state, judge, or court. This means that you are welcome to login to the course as many times as you like, work at your own pace, and take breaks as often or as long as needed.
If you are concerned that you will not be able to complete the course and receive your certificate of completion before your deadline you can request an extension from the judge or court that ordered the course. However, while many courts do allow a grace period or may accept the certificate of completion after the deadline date as long as it is postmarked on or before the deadline date, this is not guaranteed. Some courts or judges may refuse to grant an extension.
Your Certificate of Completion and Reporting Completion of the ADI Course
Once you have successfully completed all ADI coursework and instruction time you will then be sent your certificate of completion. You will have the option of selecting standard delivery of the certificate via US postal service, which is free, or you can select express shipping via UPS, which carries an extra charge.
If you are taking the Florida ADI course because you have a suspended or revoked license or because you have been designated a habitual traffic offender (HTO), then you won’t have to report completion of the ADI course. Instead your course provider will report your completion of the course to the State of Florida on your behalf. However, you will still receive your certificate of completion for your own records.
If, however, you are taking the Florida ADI course because you were ordered by a court or judge to complete a 12-hour driver improvement course then you will need to report your completion of the course and turn in your completion certificate by the date specified. Note that in this circumstance Ticket School will not be able to report completion of the ADI course on your behalf and that it is your responsibility to find out who the certificate of completion needs to be submitted to and when.