Ticket School’s Florida Basic Driver Improvement (BDI) course is fully approved by Florida’s Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV), which is the governmental agency in Florida that regulates the licensing of Florida drivers as well as driver improvement courses. Florida’s DHSMV is comparable to the DMV of other states.
Ticket School’s Florida BDI course is fully DHSMV approved for each of the following attendance types, listed by popularity:
- Florida Ticket Point Dismissal
- Traffic Collision Avoidance Course (TCAC)
- Court Ordered Attendance
- DHSMV Directed Mandatory Attendance
Florida Ticket Point Dismissal
The most common reason people elect to take the Florida BDI course is to keep ticket points off of their driving records. Keeping points off of your driving record is important in order to prevent your auto insurer from raising your rate. Except in instances in which you are at fault for a collision, insurance companies in Florida are prohibited from raising your rates for moving violations as long as the adjudication is withheld and no points are assessed. Florida state law (§626.9541[o],F.S.) reads:.
No insurer shall impose or request an additional premium, cancel a policy, or issue a nonrenewal notice on any insurance policy or contract because of any traffic infraction when adjudication has been withheld and no points have been assessed pursuant to s. 318.14(9) and (10). However, this subparagraph does not apply to traffic infractions involving accidents in which the insurer has incurred a loss due to the fault of the insured.
Traffic Collision Avoidance Course (TCAC)
Another reason many Florida drivers take the BDI course is in order to comply with a DHSMV order to attend a Traffic Collision Avoidance Course (TCAC). TCAC attendance may be required for Florida drivers who have been in traffic collisions and that fall into one of the following situations:
- Two traffic crashes occurring within a two-year period.
- A crash that results in $500 or more of property damage.
- A crash that results in injuries.
Florida drivers who fall into one of the above situations will receive a letter from the Florida DHSMV ordering them to attend a BDI course for the purposes of TCAC. Drivers who fail to comply with this order will have their driver licenses cancelled.
Court Ordered Attendance
Florida drivers may also be ordered to attend the Florida BDI course by a judge. In these circumstances the judge will decide whether adjudication will be withheld – thus whether or not the driver will have points assessed to their driving record.
DHSMV Directed Mandatory Attendance
Finally, Florida drivers may be required to attend the Florida BDI course if the commit one of the following driving violations as defined by Florida state law:
- Running a red light (§316.075[c],F.S.)
- Reckless driving (§316.192,F.S.)
- Racing on highway (§316.191,F.S.)
- Passing a stopped school bus (§316.172,F.S.)
Ticket School’s Florida BDI Course Is Fully State Approved
Ticket School is a website owned and operated by Driver Training Associates, Inc. For almost 40 years we have been helping Florida drivers meet their driver training requirements. We have helped millions of Floridians learn how to behave safely behind the wheel. All of our Florida courses, including the Florida Basic Driver Improvement (BDI) course, are fully approved by the Florida DHSMV and can be taken to meet any of the attendance reasons discussed above.
For more information about our Florida BDI course please visit the FAQs page.