How to Avoid Points with an Online Driver Improvement Course
There are two ways to be able to take a Missouri driver improvement course to keep points off your record after a ticket.
- Fine Collection Center Approved – If the Fine Collection Center (FCC) in the county where you got your ticket has been authorized to approve of driver improvement courses then after you plead guilty and pay your fine you will be automatically approved to take a state approved Driver Improvement course to avoid points.
- Court Approved – If the Fine Collection Center (FCC) in the county where you got your ticket is NOT authorized to approve driver improvement courses then you must first plead not guilty to the FCC and request to take a Driver Improvement Program with the Court to avoid point assessment.
Note: You are not eligible to take a DIP if you hold a Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) or if your violation occurred on a motorcycle. It is also important to note that you have 60 days from the date of conviction to complete the course. You are may take a DIP once every 36 months to avoid point assessment.
Our online course is officially approved for statewide use by all counties in Missouri by the Missouri Safety Center. All state approved courses in Missouri are 8 hours in length. Even though our program is state approved every case and situation is unique so it is your responsibility to understand the rules in the county where you got your ticket and to verify with the Fine Collection Center handling your ticket whether you can take a Driver Improvement Program.
Getting an Auto Insurance Discount
Many auto insurance companies offer discounts for voluntarily taking a Missouri Driver improvement program. Some providers offer a 10% discount for 3 years, but the actual discount amount and participation varies by each provider so we highly encourage you to contact your agent or insurance company to check on their eligibility details.
Why Choose Ticketschool.com?
NOT ALL COURSES ARE THE SAME.
Unmatched Quality and Content
The Missouri Driver Improvement Course is an eight-hour course that covers a number of important safety topics such as:
- Road signs and lane markings
- Missouri driving regulations and traffic rules
- Defensive Driving Tips
There are short multiple choice quizzes after each unit in the course to test your comprehension, and there will also be a 10 question multiple choice final exam that you must pass to complete the course. You must get a 70% on the final exam to pass, but you will have unlimited attempts.
Electronic Certificate Delivery
Immediately following successful course completion you will be able to download and/or print a Form 4444. The Form 4444 is provided in .pdf format and is Missouri’s version of a completion certificate and will be pre-filled with the information you provided during the course registration. If you are taking the course for a Fine Collection Center you will mail the form to the Missouri Driver License Bureau within 15 days from the date of course completion. If you took the course for a court, then you will turn in the Form 4444 to the court to be signed and then mail to the Driver License Bureau. Failure to send the Form 4444 to the Driver License Bureau within 15 days will result in points being assessed to your record.