How does the online Defensive Driving Course work?
Our Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) approved online Advanced Driver Improvement program (a.k.a. ADI course) is 12 hours in length as required by the state. The course is available 24 / 7 from any device that is internet enabled (phone, tablet, PC, or laptop), so you don’t have to be online on any particular day or time. You can log in and out of the course as your schedule allows. The curriculum is a mixture of text and video that is spread out over 8 units, with a state required 24-hour break in the middle. You will be given a free downloadable PDF enrollment letter before you start the program. This is needed for those submitting Hardship license application to the state.
As you proceed through the program, you will be required to provide short answer responses intended to keep you engaged as well as to test your understanding of the material. At the conclusion of the 8 units, you will submit your responses to a licensed instructor for review. If all of the course responses are acceptable, you will proceed to take a 10-question final exam. The DHSMV requires that you get an 80% or better on the final exam to pass. A licensed instructor will also read and grade your final exam. You have up to 3 attempts to achieve a passing score on the final exam. Upon successful completion of the course, our system will automatically report the completion electronically to the Florida DHSMV system and an electronic certificate will be processed and made available to you for download and printing.
Reasons to take an Advanced Driver Improvement Course
FL DHSMV Ordered – Prevent a license suspension or revocation or get your license back.
Court Ordered – Satisfy a county or court-order requirement due to a ticket.
Hardship License Application – Meets the course requirement on the Florida DHSMV hardship license application.
DHSMV Designations – You are designated as a Habitual Traffic Offender (HTO) or have 3 crashes in 3 years
There are so many reasons why you should want to take the Ticketschool Florida Advanced Driver Improvement course online. First you don’t have to drive to find a live classroom location and drive there. And you also don’t have to find a class time and day that works for your schedule. The online course is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week from any internet enabled device (smartphone, tablet, PC, or laptop). You can log in and take your course from anywhere with internet access (home, office, coffee shop, etc.). Keep in mind that there is a 24 hour break at the half way point of the course, but outside of that it is ready and waiting for you anytime you want. Here are some additional benefits:
- Lower price than most instructor led ADI classroom courses
- Up to date HD quality videos and engaging animations
- Free enrollment letter, if needed for Hardship license application
- E-certificate (PDF) available immediately after completion
- Free reporting to Florida DHSMV
- Live customer support during business hours
In our easy to use online course, you will learn safe driving practices that will help you become a better and safer driver.
As an approved advanced driver improvement program, our course must follow the regulations set by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV). These requirements are as follows:
Course Length: 12 hours
Number of Units: 8
Time Allowed to Complete: 90 days. You are given 90 days from the date of registration to complete the course. If you fail to complete the course after 90 days, we must report a failure to complete to the Florida DHSMV, and you will be required to start a new course from the beginning.
The ADI course content is offered with a combination of video and text pages. Each page has a timer that must expire before you can move to the next page. There are also many pages that require you to type in responses to various course questions. The course will automatically save your progress, allowing you to log in and out as your schedule requires. Each time you login the course will allow you to pick up where you last left off until you have completed. After you have completed all 8 units of the course, you will have provided typed answers to 50 short questions, which you will submit for grading by a licensed instructor. The instructor will read all of your responses to determine if any need to be revised. If not, you can move to the final exam. If any need correcting, you will be allowed to login and correct your answer. The grading process with the instructor can take 24-48 hours.
Final Exam: The final exam in this course consists of 10 short answer questions that come from the 50 that you did throughout the course already. Just like with your course responses, a licensed instructor will review and grade your final exam answers. Per DHSMV rule, you must score an 80% or greater to pass, and you get 3 attempts to get a passing score. You will have the opportunity to go back into the course to review the course material as needed after each attempt. The grading process for your final exam can also take 24-48 hours.
ID Verification: The course must verify that the person who registered is the one taking the course. We do this with ID questions that you will setup during the course registration process. At random locations during the course, you will be asked one of your 10 ID questions and your answers must match the answers provided to the same question at registration. If you answer three questions incorrectly, you will be disqualified from the course, and have to start a new course from the beginning.
Completion Certificate: After the instructor marks your final exam as passed, our system will report your completion to the DHSMV and generate an electronic (PDF format) certificate that you can save / print the certificate as needed. We DO NOT report completions to the county or court. If taking the course for court ordered reasons, it is your responsibility to provide a copy of the completion certificate to the proper authority per their instructions and before any deadlines.
Reporting Completions to FL DHSMV: All completions are reported to the Florida Department of Highways Safety and Motor Vehicles upon successful course completion (passing the final exam). This is most important for those that have been ordered by the DHSMV to complete the course. We always recommend users follow up with the Department following completion to make sure the completion was successfully received and all is taken care of.
State Approved – Our company is licensed by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles as an “online advanced driver improvement course” as Ticketschool.com and/or under our corporate name of Driver Training Associates, Inc. (DTA).
History – It is important to choose a company you can trust. We have proudly been offering driver improvement courses across the US for over 45 years and to have been approved and offering online driver improvement courses in Florida for over 25 years!
Superior Service – Unlike some of our competition, we are fanatic about our customer service. You can easily find out phone number and contact information and can reach a live representative, if needed, at 1-800-558-9887 from 8AM to 6PM EST Monday through Friday, excluding holidays.
The first step in trying to get a Florida hardship license is to download the Florida hardship license application form. Revies the information on the form thoroughly and follow the instructions. You will notice that enrolling in and/or completing an Advanced Driver Improvement Course (ADI) is part of the process for most. Our company provides a free enrollment letter to any person that registers and pays for the course. That enrollment letter should be included and sent in with the application form and any corresponding payment to the state to schedule your hardship hearing. Some drivers are required to complete the course prior to sending in their application. You should contact an admin review office location on the form with any questions.
IMPORTANT: If you obtain a hardship license with only the enrollment letter, remember that you must complete the course within 90 days. If you fail to complete the course within 90 days from the course registration date, we will report a failure to complete to the DHSMV, which will cause your hardship license to be revoked.