TicketSchool > Blog > Texas > Do You Need a Learner’s Permit if You’re Over 18 in Texas?
driving school or learning to drive.

If you are over the age of 18 and looking to get your first Texas driver’s license, you might wonder if you need a learner’s permit before you can apply for a driver’s license. There are some factors that determine what kind of classes Texas adults need to complete before they can take their driving test.

Do I Need a Learner’s Permit if I Am Over 18 in Texas?

If you are already a licensed adult driver with a valid license and move to Texas after you turn 18, you will only need to surrender your out-of-state driver’s license to receive your Texas driver’s license. If you are a first-time driver in Texas, however, you will need to meet some basic criteria to get your license depending on your age.

The Department of Public Safety requires new drivers that are 18 to 24 years old complete a 6-hour adult driver’s education course before they can take their driving test.  If a driver wants additional education they can take a full 32 hour driver education course, but that is not required.  You can practice driving with another licensed driver on private property in Texas without a learner’s permit, but if you want to practice your driving on public roads, you must have a learner’s permit and a Texas licensed driver over the age of 21 in the vehicle with you.

All new drivers are required to pass the knowledge test covering road signs and traffic laws to either get a learner’s permit or a drivers license. After passing the knowledge exam, if you are over 18 years of age, you will have two choices: 1) obtain a learner’s permit so that you can get further behind the wheel practice, or 2) immediately take the road test if you feel capable and ready to pass the behind the wheel skill test. You will need to provide a vehicle with a valid vehicle registration and insurance to complete the driving exams.

Impact Texas Requirement

You will also have to show completion of the Impact Texas Adult Drivers Program (ITAD) when you take the driving skills test in Texas. This is a free, 1-hour video on the dangers of distracted driving. You should bring documentation of this requirement with you to the DPS office.

Should You Take a Texas Defensive Driving Course?

car driving school instructor and male driver

While the educational requirements vary based on the age of a prospective teen driver, whether they need to complete a 6-hour adult driver ed course or a full driver education course (32 hour via parent-taught drivers ed course or another state-approved course), the decision on what is best depends on the person.  Some that are very knowledgeable and are more comfortable behind the wheel may only need the basic requirements, while others that are brand new to the skill need more time and practice.  The fact is, more education is never a bad thing and will only help a driver prepare and be more comfortable and hopefully safer behind the wheel.

While you aren’t technically required to get a learner’s permit if you are over 18 in Texas, everyone benefits from a well-presented overview of Texas traffic laws and best driving practices to avoid an accident. Even if you are over the age of 25 and only required to complete the Impact Texas requirement, taking a state-approved 6-hour Texas defensive driving course from Ticket School for only $25 is a great option to provide additional helpful skills for even the most seasoned and competent driver to be more prepared for the various situations that drivers will be presented with.

Our courses are approved by the State of Texas and can be completed 100% online on any web-enabled device. Head over to and register for one of our Texas driving courses to help prepare you for driving on the Texas roadways, to have a traffic ticket dismissed (if you already have a license), or just to save money on your auto insurance.