TicketSchool > Blog > Virginia > 4 reasons why you should take a Virginia driver improvement Course
person holding steering wheel

An online driver improvement course can help drivers in a variety of ways. Whether you’ve been ordered to take a course by a court or you want to save some money on your insurance, here are some compelling reasons why you should consider taking Ticket School’s Virginia Driver Improvement Course.

Fulfill court requirements

If you’ve received a ticket for a moving violation, the court may order you to complete a driver improvement course. If you need to fulfill this requirement, Ticket School’s online improvement course for Virginia drivers is ideal. Ticket School is fully licensed by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles to offer the mandated 8-hour driver improvement course. Taking this course can help you reduce the fines and fees associated with your ticket.

Reinstate your license

If your driver’s license has been revoked or suspended, the Virginia DMV may require you to pay certain fees and take a driver improvement course before you can have your license reinstated. Ticket School’s online Virginia Driver Improvement Course meets all the DMV’s requirements. When you have completed the course, you’ll need to visit one of our testing centers to take a short final exam, and then we will issue you a certificate that you can present to the DMV to satisfy your obligation. Our testing centers are conveniently located throughout the state in locations such as The UPS Store and local libraries.

Earn safe driving points

The Virginia DMV rates drivers using a system that awards demerit points for unsafe driving and safe driver points for incident-free driving. When you get a traffic ticket, the DMV adds demerit points to your record. Each year that you drive without any violations, you earn one safe point. But you can earn five safe driving points all at once by taking our online Virginia Driver Improvement Course. How often can you take a driver improvement course in Virginia? If you want, you can take the course as often as every 24 months.

Save money on auto insurance

Most companies that insure Virginia drivers provide generous discounts to those who have voluntarily taken and passed a state-approved driver improvement course. The discount usually applies as long as you remain incident-free. After a violation, you may still be able to qualify for reduced rates if you take the course again. For details, contact your insurance representative.

What are you waiting for? Even if you aren’t under court order, you can still save money on your insurance and earn up to five safe driving points with Ticket School’s online Virginia Driver Improvement Course. It’s easy to get started right now. Just click here to sign up, and start learning and earning!