Taking a Texas defensive driving course online can be beneficial for drivers of all ages. Completing the driving safety (a.k.a. defensive driving) course online offers the following benefits:
- Saves you time and money. You can complete the course on your own time, online through most devices including your smartphone and tablet!
- Keeps points from a traffic ticket off your license. While most of the fines and court costs remain the same, by completing a driver safety course the citation and the associated points will not go on your driving record.
- Helps keep your insurance rates from increasing. Drivers who have a lot of points on their record are considered high-risk drivers by insurance companies, which results in higher premiums.
- Prevents you from losing your license. If you get too many points on your license, you could lose your driving privileges as well as be surcharged the Texas DPS. Completing the online course could mean the difference between keeping your license and having it revoked.
- Teaches you how to become a smarter and safer driver. The purpose of the Texas online driver safety course is to teach you how to drive defensively. Defensive driving is making sure you are aware of your safe driving habits and developing the skills to anticipate what other drivers will do.
- Could lower your insurance rates by as much as 10% for up to 3 years. Even if you do not have a ticket you need to have forgiven, taking a defensive driving course online could qualify you for an insurance premium discount.
What Driving Skills Are Gained by a Texas Driver Safety Course?
While completing the defensive driving course online, you are exposed to a wide range of driver safety skills, including:
- The risks of drinking and driving and/or using drugs and how they can affect driving safety.
- Learning and being reminded of all the current Texas driving laws, rules, and regulations.
- The current Texas auto insurance requirements and laws.
- Learning and being reminded of safe driving techniques, like keeping a safe following distance.
- How to drive safely in different types of road conditions.
- How to handle different driving emergencies.
Are There Any Requirements for Taking a Texas Driver Safety Course Online?
Requirements for completing a defensive driver course online only apply in cases where you receive a ticket.
- A Texas driver safety course online can only be completed once every 12 months. If you get more than one ticket in a 12-month period, only one of the tickets can be forgiven by completing the online course.
- You must have had a valid Texas driver license or permit when you received the ticket. If you have a commercial driver license, you do not qualify to have the points forgiven via taking a state approved course. However, it is still recommended that you complete the course to brush up on safe driving habits.
- You cannot have been driving at excessive speeds more than 25 mph over the posted speed limit.
If you are completing the course to brush up on safe driving habits or to qualify for an insurance discount, then there are no requirements.
To learn more about how an online Texas defensive driving and/or Texas driver safety course can help you, please feel free to contact Ticket School at (800) 558-9887 today!