TicketSchool > Blog > Florida > Top 5 Questions About the Florida Drug and Alcohol Course

Considering taking a Florida first-time-driver course (also known as a Florida Drug and Alcohol Course)? Whether you’re a teen or an adult who has never had a license before, this program will help you better understand safe driving and how substances such as drugs and alcohol influence your ability to drive, while helping you meet the Florida drug and alcohol course requirement to get your driver’s license. The coursework is easy to understand, clear, and geared at providing the most convenient and user friendly online course experience on the web. Anyone that has never had a driver’s license (in any state) and wants to get one in Florida will need this course.  If that is you, then we encourage you to read this useful FAQ information.

welcome to florida written near beach


Do I Need to Take This Course?

If you are a person living in Florida that wants to get a Florida driver’s license, and you have never had a driver’s license before (in Florida or any other state) then in order to get your learner’s permit and/or driver’s license you will be required to complete a Florida Drug and Alcohol course approved by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV).  Sometimes the drug and alcohol course is referred to as a Florida TLSAE course which stands for Traffic Law Substance Abuse Education course.  Successfully completing a TLSAE course is a Florida requirement to get a license in addition to passing the Florida Driver License exam, which can also be taken online.  The Driver License Exam tests your knowledge of road signs and the laws of the road.  Studying the Florida Drivers Handbook is the best way to prepare for the DL exam.

How Long Does It Take to Complete the Course?

The Florida Drug and Alcohol course is 4 hours in length focuses on different subtopics of drugs and alcohol and how they affect your body and how those effects can impact the driving task. You are not required to take all 4 hours at once.  You may complete these units at your own pace from anywhere you have internet access. The course will automatically save your progress so that you can log in and out as needed.  That is the beauty of taking the course online.

Overall, you can expect the course to be simple to use, easy to access, and fast to complete. Once you completed all the course material and pass the final unit quiz you will have successfully passed the course!  Our course has no final exam.

Is the Florida Drug and Alcohol Course State-Approved?

Yes! The TLSAE course is state-approved by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) which ensures that by completing our course you will have met that requirement to get your first license. Upon successful completion, Ticket School reports your successful result to the DHSMV.

Where Can I Find My Course Schedule?

The TSLAE course is entirely online so it is available from any device that can access the internet and is available 24 hours a day – 7 days a week. So there is no schedule to find.  The course schedule is what fits your busy life.  Rather than forcing you to attend a live school on a regular schedule, this online format ensures that you can set your own schedule

There is also no set time to complete the course, however your account will remain active for 180 days.

woman is smiling looking smartphone


Can I Study from a Mobile Device?

Yes! Every aspect of the Florida Drug and Alcohol course is mobile device friendly. Completing your course from your smartphone is the ultimate in course flexibility and convenience.  The course can be access from any internet enabled device such as PCs, tablets, and laptops. All you need is access to the internet to log in.

Ready to take your Florida Drug and Alcohol course and get one step closer to getting your driver’s license? Take your TLSAE course with Ticket School!  We also offer a Free Online Florida Drivers License Handbook when you’re ready to begin studying for the Florida Driver License Exam Call (800) 558-9887 to register or for more information today.