Ticket School > Blog > New York > New York State Seatbelt Laws
beautiful young woman putting on her seatbelt

For some drivers and passengers, wearing a seatbelt can be a nuisance, but, according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, buckling up is one of the safest decisions that drivers and passengers can make. In 2017 alone, seatbelts are said to have saved an estimated 14,955 lives.

If you’re a resident of New York and drive a car, you’ll want to know the ins and outs of the seatbelt laws in the state. Keep reading to learn more about the legality of buckling up.

Seatbelt Laws in New York

The New York seatbelt law is one of the strongest seatbelt laws in the country.  According to the law, the driver and the passenger in the front seat are required to wear a seatbelt. If the driver has a learner’s permit, then every passenger in the car, including those in the back, must wear a seatbelt. New York law also requires that all passengers under the age of 16 wear a seatbelt, no matter where they’re seated in the vehicle.

The seat belt law in New York State also sets certain safety standards for young passengers. Children under the age of eight must also be secured using an appropriate child restraint system, based on the child’s age and weight.

In many states, not wearing a seatbelt is a secondary offense. This means that if you can only receive a ticket for not wearing a seatbelt if you’re pulled over for a primary offense, such as speeding or failing to stop at a red light. Yet, in New York, not wearing a seatbelt is a primary offense.

Seatbelt Law Penalties

If you’re pulled over for not wearing a seatbelt, you will receive a ticket, which typically includes a fine and up to three points on your license. As the driver, if you’re caught not wearing your seatbelt, you can expect to be hit with a $50 fine. There’s also a $25 to $100 fine for each passenger who isn’t wearing a seatbelt.

Being pulled over for multiple seatbelt violations can be disastrous for your driving record. If you and your front-seat passenger don’t have on a seatbelt, you face receiving up to six points on your license.

When points are added to your license, your insurance premiums will increase, which means more money out of your pocket on a monthly basis. So, before you push the gas and start traveling to your destination, always take the time to ensure that you and your passengers are buckled up. Not only does this mean avoiding a ticket, but it also improves the safety of everyone in the car.

Drive Informed by Taking a Course Offered by Ticket School

seatbelt in the car

Have you recently been penalized for driving without a seatbelt? Are you looking for a way to increase your knowledge of the various traffic laws that apply to New York drivers? No matter the reason, if you’re looking to take a New York defensive driving course, look no further than Ticket School.

In New York, drivers have the option to participate in the Point & Insurance Reduction Program. This program refreshes driving knowledge by teaching defensive driving techniques, safety tips, and reviewing traffic laws. By completing a driver safety course, you may be eligible for up to a four-point reduction on your New York driving record.

Another benefit of taking an online traffic school course from Ticket School is the fact that you can get a minimum of a 10% reduction on your auto insurance premiums. So, whether you have seatbelt violations on your record or just want to be a safer driver, we can help.

Learn more about Ticket School driving courses at https://ticketschool.com/ or by calling our team at (800) 558-9887.

Source:

  1. https://www.nhtsa.gov/risky-driving/seat-belts