TicketSchool > Blog > New York > New York Hit and Run Laws: What It Means to Leave the Scene
auto accident between two cars

A hit and run is defined as a motor-vehicle driver who doesn’t stop after being involved in an crash. After being involved in a car crash, it’s only human extinct to panic and try to escape a bad situation, and there are many reasons why people flee the scene of a crash. Some leave because of the stress and aftermath that’s involved with an accident, while others leave because they’re under the influence or lacking insurance coverage.

However, if you’re involved in an accident, leaving the scene is one of the last things you want to do. There are very serious hit and run consequences, especially in New York. Understanding hit and run laws in NY can ease panic and teach you the proper steps to take after being involved in a crash or some other kind of accident.

Penalties for a Hit-and-Run

Leaving the scene of an accident before giving the other driver your contact and insurance information has serious consequences. Even if you didn’t know that you struck a car, when in doubt, pull over in a safe area and look for any signs of damage.

In New York, the law states that anyone who is involved in an accident must stop their vehicle and exchange information with the other driver. Failing to trade information with the other driver is considered a hit and run, which is a serious crime. It’s important to note that hit and run crimes apply to even the smallest of crashes. Leaving after a fender bender or leaving after hitting a parked car is illegal.

If you’re caught and given a penalty for leaving the scene of an accident in NY, you face much more than a fine. While a hit and run accident can cost up to $250, you’ll also have to pay court costs and other fees.

Being charged with a hit and run can also result in jail time, up to 15 days, along with three points on your driving record. You’ll also face an increase in your auto insurance premiums. Yet, taking an can help ease the consequences.

Take a New York Defensive Driving Course at Ticket School

young woman with learning language during online courses using netbook

If you were recently charged with a hit and run, you’ll want to know the options that you have available to you. One of the best things you can do to lessen the severity of the penalties is to take a DMV-approved online defensive driving course offered by Ticket School.

New York offers a program known as the Point & Insurance Reduction Program (PIRP), which allows drivers to take a course in order to reduce points on their driving record. The New York PIRP is a comprehensive program that:

  • Teaches techniques for safe and lawful driving
  • Refreshes your driving knowledge
  • Can prevent you from losing your license

After completing the course, up to four points may be subtracted from your driving record. However, it’s important to note that taking the course doesn’t negate future points.  Check with the DMV prior to taking the course to determine the exact details of how a course can benefit you and your driving record.

Interested in learning more about the program? Looking to take a New York DMV-approved defensive driving course online? If so, choose Ticket School. Check out our website or contact us at (800) 558-9887 to learn more about becoming a safer New York driver.