Once your driver’s license has been suspended, it may seem like the end of the road. What are you supposed to do if you need to get to work, pick up your kids, or run errands?
Thankfully, Florida drivers have more options than getting a bus pass or bumming rides off friends and family. With a hardship license, drivers can legally drive between strict locations or conduct certain tasks while their normal driver’s license is suspended.
We’ll review who’s eligible for a Florida hardship license, how you can get one, and how to reinstate Florida drivers license online. Read on to learn more about the Florida hardship license and get back on the road!
How License Suspensions Work in Florida
Florida drivers can have their licenses suspended for a variety of reasons, including (but not limited) to the following:
- Failure to pay traffic fines
- Failure to pass a vision test
- Failure to appear at a traffic summons
- Driving under the influence (DUI)
- Accruing too many violation points on your record
Violation points are among the most common reasons for a license suspension. These violation points are accrued over time for minor infractions, such as failure to stop or speeding. If drivers earn too many points within a specific period of time, their licenses can be suspended.
License suspension periods vary depending on the total points and the period of accrual. Florida drivers can have their licenses suspended anywhere from 30 days to a year.
- 30-day suspension – 12 traffic violation points in 12 months
- 3-month suspension – 18 traffic violation points in 18 months
- 12-month suspension – 24 traffic violation points in 36 months
For many people, even a 30-day suspension can pose significant barriers to daily life. Thankfully, most Florida drivers with a suspended license can apply to receive a hardship license. With a Florida hardship license, drivers can still drive to work, pick up their kids, and conduct other important tasks during their suspension period.
What Is a Florida Hardship Driver’s License?
A Florida hardship license lets you drive between strict locations (such as work and school) while your regular license is suspended. However, Florida drivers should be aware of certain eligibility criteria before applying.
Florida Hardship License Eligibility Requirements
Drivers are eligible for hardship licenses if their drivers license was suspended because of:
- Accumulating too many points on their records
- Causing an accident that resulted in a death or serious bodily injury
- Being classified a Habitual Traffic Offender (HTO)
Some people, however, are not eligible for hardship licenses. You won’t get one if:
- You’re convicted of a DUI two or more times
- You’ve refused to submit a blood-alcohol test two or more times
- You’re disqualified from driving a commercial vehicle
- You’re found incapable of safely operating a vehicle
Eligible drivers can apply for a hardship license at a local Florida Administrative Reviews Office or its website. Florida drivers must also pay a suspension reinstatement fee, submit proof of enrollment in an advanced driver improvement course, and then pay the applicable fees for both the suspension and the reinstatement application.
Hardship License Details
There are two types of hardship licenses under Florida law:
- Employment Purposes: Drivers can only travel to and from their place of employment.
- Business Purposes: In addition to driving to and from a place of employment, a business purposes hardship license also allows driving for educational, medical, and religious purposes.
Advanced Driver Improvement Course Requirements
In order to get a hardship license, you have to enroll in (and in some cases such as HTO, complete) a Florida Advanced Driver Improvement (ADI) course. Depending on your particular record, a DUI course may be required instead. The ADI program is a 12-hour course intended to help drivers learn or relearn safe driving skills. While the ADI program is available in-person, most Florida drivers prefer the convenience and flexibility that the online course provides.
Reinstate Florida Drivers License Online with Ticket School
At Ticket School, you can complete the Florida Advanced Driver Improvement course online and on your schedule. Our course is available 24/7 and can be completed at your own pace, making it the ideal choice for busy schedules.
We’re also proud to offer FREE enrollment letters and completion certificates in an instant downloadable format (.pdf). Register today or contact Ticket School at 800-558-9887 to learn more.