Have you ever responded to a text message while driving? What about taken a phone call, or taken a selfie? A survey conducted by AT&T found that 75% of people text and drive, despite the danger and illegality.
While cell phones are the biggest causers of distracted driving, other items also take your attention away from the road.
Eating food, flipping through songs, and applying makeup can all lead to major distractions from the real task at hand: driving safely. When your attention isn’t fully on the road, you’re unaware of what’s going on around you. In turn, you’re more likely to have a crash.
The consequences of distracted driving range can be severe. If you’re caught driving with a cell phone in hand, you will more than likely receive a ticket. Penalties vary depending on the state of the offense and range from fines, points and even prison time.
In New York, distracted driving carries a $235 fine and 3 points. In Alabama, it’s a $25 fine and 2 points. In Nebraska the fine is $200 and 3 points. If you’re caught driving distracted in Utah, you face a $750 fine and 90 days in prison.
Even if you’re willing to accept the penalties, the fact is that driving distracted is never worth the risk. A ticket means that your hard-earned money is spent paying a fine. A ticket can also add points to your license which will increase your car insurance rates.
Having too many points on your license can cause it to be revoked. This will make, for example, the Florida driver’s license renewal process even harder.
Having to pay money towards a ticket seems like a small risk when considering the other consequences of driving distracted. If you’ve never been injured or injured someone else because of distracted driving, consider yourself lucky.
The chances of getting into a crash are extremely high when driving distracted. Without full focus of your eyes and hands, you’re more likely to:
- Veer into the lane next to you
- Rear-end the driver ahead of you
- Run a traffic light or stop sign
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, in 2015, 3,477 people died as a result of a distracted driver.
Imagine seriously injuring or killing someone because you had to respond to a text message. If a message is that important, pulling over is the safest course of action. Return to the road once you’re prepared to devote your full attention to driving.
If you’ve been in a crash because of distracted driving, consider taking a state approved traffic school course or accident prevention course in your state. Traffic school courses will raise your awareness about the dangers of distracted driving and teach you safe driving techniques to help avoid any further crashes.
Become a Better, Less Distracted Driver
If you’ve been pulled over and given a ticket for distracted driving, besides the likely fine, you may also be required to or want to enroll in a driving safety course. These courses teach the fundamentals of safe driving. The course can be taken at an online traffic school.
Looking for a reputable traffic school online? At Ticket School, we provide a variety of driving courses. Call us at 1-800-558-9887 or email us at firstname.lastname@example.org to enroll.