TicketSchool > Blog > Michigan BDIC > Who Is Eligible for the Michigan Driver Improvement Course?
michigan mg 4521 car plate

If you got a ticket and are wondering if you are eligible to take a Michigan Basic Driver Improvement Course (BDIC), the surest way to know is whether or not you receive a letter from the Michigan Secretary of State (SOS).  The letter will notify you if you are eligible to take the course and will include a deadline date for when the course must be completed by. That deadline date is typically 60 days from the date of the letter.

Here is some important information to help you learn more about the Michigan driver improvement course.

Course Eligibility

There are various eligibility requirements that must meet before it will be determined that you are eligible to take a Michigan BDIC. Generally those requirements include the following:

  • Hold a valid non-commercial driver’s license.
  • Have less than 2 points on your driving record.
  • Violation did not occur in a commercial vehicle.
  • Violation was not a criminal offense.

Last, the ticket you received must be eligible for dismissal. If you meet all of these requirements, you should receive the letter from the Michigan SOS giving you the green light to register and complete a course in the next 60 days.

About the Course

The Michigan basic driver improvement course teaches the fundamental details needed to improve your safety behind the wheel. The class consists of eight units and covers a variety of topics, including:

  • State traffic laws
  • Highway safety
  • Driving emergencies
  • Alcohol and drug-impaired driving
  • Vehicle maintenance

In order to complete the course, you must review all of the material and pass a short quiz at the end of each unit.  There’s no final exam that you must complete.

Benefits of the Michigan Defensive Driving Course

Getting a traffic ticket in Michigan can have all sorts of consequences. The biggest consequence is that the ticket and the associated points go on your driving record which is available for view by your auto insurance company, which could result in your car insurance rates increasing, which means more money out of your pocket each month.

If eligible, taking and completing the basic driver improvement course before the given deadline date prevents the state from adding the points from the ticket to your record and from notifying your insurance company of the ticket, which may trigger a rate increase. By taking the Michigan defensive driving course, you’ll also be able to refresh your knowledge of driver safety, minimizing the risk of a ticket or car crash in the future.

man working on his macbook

Take the Course Online via Ticket School

Many drivers choose to not take the driver improvement course because of busy schedules and a lack of time. Thankfully, sitting in a classroom for four hours isn’t the only way to take the course. If you’re looking for a more convenient option, you’ll want to take the basic driver improvement course online.

By taking the basic driver improvement course online, you can pace yourself and complete the course on your own time. There’s no need to cancel plans or stress over making it to the in-person class on time.

Not all online course providers are equal. At Ticket School, our Michigan Basic Driver Improvement course is entirely online and is fully approved by the state. Our platform is also accessible on mobile devices, ensuring optimal convenience and flexibility.

Don’t wait to take the course. Visit our website and sign up today to prevent points on your record and increased insurance rates. If you have questions about the basic driver improvement course, contact us.