TicketSchool > Blog > Florida > What Is the Florida DATA Course About?
black teen pointing at cell phone

The Florida DATA Course is a drug and alcohol course that all new drivers who have never previously held a driver’s license must take to get their Florida driver’s license. The course goes by several different names, but they all refer to the same driving course. Some of the more common ones you will hear include:

  • Florida 4-Hour Drug and Alcohol Course
  • Florida Traffic Law Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) Course
  • Florida Drug Alcohol Traffic Education (DATE) Course
  • Florida Drug Alcohol Traffic Awareness (DATA) Course

Do I Have to Take the Florida TLSAE Course if I’m 18 or Older?

Some people think that the Florida TLSAE is just for new drivers under the age of 18. However, this is a common misconception. Anyone regardless of age, who has never had a driver’s license must take and complete the course to apply for their Florida driver’s license.

Why Does Everyone Have to Take the Florida DATA Course?

New drivers need to understand the effects drugs and alcohol have on the body and how they impair driving abilities. They also need to know about the consequences and hazards of driving while under the influence. The purpose of the Florida TLSAE is to make new drivers more aware of the problem of impaired driving and the potential impacts it could have.

Do I Only Have 4 Hours to Complete the Florida Drug and Alcohol Awareness Class?

This is another misconception some people have about the Florida 4-hour drug and alcohol course. The full course length is 4 hours, however you received a login code after registering which allows you to log in and out of the course at your convenience.  This allows you to work through the 4 hour course at your own pace, and can take breaks whenever it is needed.  You have the option of completing the course in one 4 hour sitting if you wish, but that is not required.

Can I Repeat the Course Sections of the Florida TLSAE?

Yes, you can go back and review any previously completed unit if you just want to re-read something or didn’t understand something.  That can be done prior to taking the end of unit quiz or after any quiz attempt.

What if I Fail the Final Test? Do I Have to Pay to Take the Course Again?

No, you can retake the final test multiple times until you can pass it. Yet, if you do not pass the first time, we strongly recommend repeating the course materials and quizzes before attempting the test a second time.

Do I Have to Take the Florida DATA Course in Person?

Woman using tablet pc against online courses

No, you can enroll and complete your Florida DATA course online. Taking the course online offers several benefits over in-person, traditional classroom settings, including:

  • You can complete the course at your own pace.
  • You have the flexibility to review course material
  • You can access content on smartphones, tablets, laptops, desktops, and other internet-connected devices.
  • The course is taught using high-quality videos, animations, and interactive quizzes instead of traditional “book” learning.
  • The Florida DHSMV (Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles) is automatically notified once you successfully complete and pass the course.

Completing the Florida drug and alcohol awareness class online is a safe, effective and convenient way to complete your course and state requirement.

For further information about our state-approved Florida driver improvement courses, including the Florida DATA course and the Florida Leaner’s Permit Test, please feel free to visit us online and enroll today! You may also contact Ticket School at (800) 558-9887 with any questions.