Once your driver’s license in Florida has been suspended, it may seem like the end of the road. What are you supposed to do if you need to get to work, pick up your kids, or run errands?
How License Suspensions Work in Florida
The State of Florida may suspend your driver’s license for a variety of reasons, including (but not limited) to the following:
- Failure to pay traffic fines
- Failure to pass a vision test
- Failure to appear at a traffic summons
- Falling behind on child support
- Operating a motor vehicle while under the influence (DUI)
- Accruing too many violation points on your driving record
Violation points are among the most common reasons for a license suspension. The FL Department of Highway Safety tracks violation points, which are accrued over time for minor infractions, such as failure to stop or speeding. License suspension periods vary from 30 days to 12 months, depending on the total points and the period of accrual.
What Is a Florida Hardship Driver’s License?
A Florida hardship license lets you drive for business purposes only, usually between strict locations (such as work and school), while your regular license is suspended. You may be eligible for a hardship license in Florida, or to have your driver’s license reinstated, by completing a state-approved driver improvement course.
Florida Hardship License Eligibility Requirements
Wondering how to reinstate your FL DL after suspension? You may be eligible if your license was suspended or revoked because of:
- Accumulating too many points on your records
- Causing an accident that results in a death or serious bodily injury
- Being classified a Habitual Traffic Offender (HTO)
The Florida Department of Highway Safety will not issue a hardship license to drivers who:
- Were convicted of a DUI two or more times
- Refused to submit a blood-alcohol test two or more times
- Were disqualified from driving a commercial vehicle
- Are found incapable of safely operating a vehicle
- Have not paid their back child support or completed a payment agreement
How to Get a Florida Hardship License
Eligible drivers can apply for a hardship license at a local Florida Administrative Reviews Office or its website. Florida drivers must have completed the Florida Hardship License Application Form that can be found online and also pay a suspension reinstatement fee, submit proof of enrollment in an advanced driver improvement course, and then pay the applicable fees for both the suspension and the reinstatement application.
Advanced Driver Improvement Course Requirements
Your Hearing Officer will review your eligibility, and you must be enrolled in a Florida Advanced Driver Improvement (ADI) course. Depending on your violations, you may be required to have completed the course or an additional substance abuse education course may be required. While the ADI program is available in-person, most Florida drivers prefer the convenience and flexibility that the online course provides.
Reinstate a Florida Drivers License Online with Ticket School
At Ticket School, you can complete the Florida Advanced Driver Improvement course online and on your schedule. Our course is available 24/7 and can be completed at your own pace, making it the ideal choice for busy schedules.
We’re also proud to offer FREE enrollment letters and completion certificates in an instant downloadable format (.pdf). Learn more about how to get a Florida hardship license or register for a Florida Online ADI Course today.