Once you reach the age of 15 years in the state of Florida, you can start the path to securing your Florida driver license. What do teens need to do to get a Florida license? There are two mandatory courses you will need to complete.
- The first is a Florida drug and alcohol course also called a Traffic Law Substance Abuse Education Course (TLSAE). All new drivers, not just Florida teens, are required to complete this course.
- The second is the Florida learners permit There are a total of 50 questions, and this test may also be taken online. You are allowed three attempts to pass.
Your completion of the TLSAE course and learners permit test result are electronically reported to the state. Once complete, you can head to your local DMV office to take the vision and hearing test and obtain your learner license.
After You Get Your Learners Permit
There is more to know about how to get a Florida license as a teen. During the first three months, you can only drive with a licensed driver over the age of 21 years and only during daylight hours. After three months of practice, you may drive at night until 10 p.m. with proper supervision. You must obey traffic laws and drive safely during this time. If you receive any driving violations or car crashes, you can lose your learners permit and may not be able to get your driver license until you are 18.
Once you have completed 50 hours of driving with at least 10 nighttime driving hours under supervision, and you have had your permit for at least 12 months, you can apply to take your driving test. Your parent or guardian must sign a form stating that you completed these hours of behind the wheel practice before you can take your road test and receive your license.
Florida License Restrictions for Teen Drivers
Florida has driving restrictions for drivers under the age of 18. You cannot drive between 11 p.m. and 6 a.m. until you turn 17, after which you cannot drive between 1 a.m. and 5 a.m.
The state waives the time restrictions if someone over the age of 21 or your legal guardian is in the vehicle or if you are going to or from work. Once you turn 18, your driver license is upgraded again and these restrictions are removed.
Advantages of Taking Florida First Time Drivers Courses Online at Ticket School
- Our Florida learners permit test, TLSAE, and Basic Driver Improvement are 100%
- We offer some of the most competitive pricing for driver courses online in Florida.
- There are no final exams for TLSAE or BDI.
- We have a money-back guarantee.
Get Your Florida Teen Drivers License Fast
You can get started today by enrolling in Florida Driving Courses at Ticket School. Our courses are approved by the State of Florida and will keep you cruising toward your driver license with fewer delays. Still have questions about which courses are right for you or what is needed to get your license? Contact us for all the personal help you need to reach your destination.