TicketSchool > Blog > Resources > Fast-Track Learning the Florida Driver’s Handbook: What You Need to Know
Fast-Track Learning the Florida Driver’s Handbook

Are you ready to get your Florida learners license? Have you completed your Florida Drug and Alcohol Course and need to prepare for the Driver License Exam?  At Ticket School, we are your one stop shop to prepare for and meet all the requirements to get your first driver’s license in the State of Florida.  That means we offer a state approved Florida drug and alcohol course (requirement #1), a Florida driver’s handbook online for studying to prepare for the driver license exam which we offer as well (also known as the Class E or road signs and road rules exam).  Our recommendation is that any driver living in Florida that has never had a driver license start by signing up and completing our Florida drug and alcohol course.  Next you will want to study the online Florida drivers handbook. Lastly when prepared, you will need to take the Florida driver license exam.   With regard to studying the handbook, it is the single most important and best way to prepare yourself for your Driver License exam.

It is vitally important the read the handbook thoroughly so you are most prepared.  Some of the basic information that will be covered is:

The Basics

There are some basic driving rules to be aware of that can be found in the Florida Driver’s handbook. These rules include:

  • Any driver over the age of 16 must have a license.
  • Road signs, traffic signals, and pavement markings.
  • Speed limits as well as parking instructions.
  • Bad driving habits.
  • Vehicle requirements, such as two braking systems, functioning lights, a horn, mirrors, and directional signals.

Knowing the basics of driving in Florida is only the beginning. Here are a few unique laws to be aware of:

Texting as a Secondary Offense

In October 2013 a law was passed that made texting a secondary driving offense. This means that if you’re pulled over for speeding or some other traffic violation, the officer may also ticket you for texting if you’re caught. The secondary offense carries a $30 fine plus court costs. If you’re caught texting and driving again within five years of the first offense, the penalty is $60 and court costs.

Move Over Law

The Move Over Law was passed in 2002 and states that drivers must move to the left lane when passing emergency vehicles that are stopped in the shoulder. This law includes police officers, tow trucks, and other emergency responders. This law is unique in that is goes against the law that all cars must drive on the right half of the roadway. With our  online courses, including our drug and alcohol course you’ll learn the importance of being aware of emergency vehicles and how to navigate through such situations.

women driver smiling