TicketSchool > FAQs > Tennessee Driver Education Course FAQs

Is this course approved by the State of Tennessee?

Yes. This 4-hour online Driver Education Course (also known as a Traffic School course) is fully approved by the Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security and can be taken by drivers who have been referred by a Tennessee court due to a traffic violations (speeding tickets, etc.).  There are a few courts that require the course be taken in person, so we recommend that you contact the court prior to verify if a state approved online course is accetable. This is NOT an 8-hour Tennessee defensive driving course, which is a course taken to prevent a driver license suspension or to reduce the time of the suspension after accumulating 12 points on a driving record in the past 12 months.

Can this course be taken on a mobile device?

Yes. This course is “mobile friendly,” meaning that it can be taken on nearly any tablet, smartphone, or other type of mobile device that contains an Internet browser, as well as any desktop or laptop computer. The course is compatible with most Microsoft, Apple, and Android operating systems. For laptop or desktop users, we recommend using the latest version of the Mozilla Firefox browser (Mac or PC) or Internet Explorer browser (32-bit, PC only). For users of smartphones, tablets, or other devices, we recommend using the browser that comes installed with your device. The browser should be configured to support javascript and cookies should be enabled.

Can I take this course for a traffic citation that I received in Tennessee?

Our online course is approved by the Tennessee Department of Safety (TDOS), which makes it an acceptable option for any Tennessee court to use for persons with a traffic ticket. However, there are a few courts in the state that still require the course to be taken in person. For this reason, we recommend that you contact the court and verify that a 4 hour online Driver Education (aka Traffic School) course approved by the Tennessee Department of Safety will be accepted for your particular ticket. PLEASE NOTE: This course is NOT an 8-hour classroom only driver improvement program. If you have been ordered by the Department of Safety, to complete an 8 hour course to clean up your driving record and/or avoid suspension this course does not meet that requirement. This 4-hour driver education course only.

Can I change my registration information?

Yes. When you take the last unit quiz, you will be given the opportunity to change the information that will be printed on your certificate of completion. If you wish to change your information before you attempt the last unit quiz, you may call us at 1-800-558-9887 for assistance.

How is my completion reported?

Once you receive your certificate of completion, you will need to turn it in to the appropriate party at the court which ordered your attendance. does not report completions to individual courts. If you fail to turn your certificate in to the court, your driver license might be suspended and you might be subjected to fines and / or penalties. You must turn your certificate in to the court on or before the due date given to you by the court.

Do you offer express shipping?

We do not offer express shipping as an option during registration or after completion of the course because we provide our customers with a free completion certificate PDF via electronic delivery that you can print at home. The PDF certificate becomes available for download immediately after you pass the course, and an e-mail will also be sent to you containing the download link so that you can download the certificate later if you choose. However, if you do not have a printer or you wish to have a physical copy of your certificate shipped to you, you can call us at 1-800-558-9887 to request this service by phone. A fee will be required for shipments via regular mail and express delivery.

How can I get in touch with a live person?

For fastest service, please call our toll free customer support number: 1-800-558-9887. You can also send an e-mail to Our office hours are Monday through Friday, 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM, Central Time.

Is the course all reading?

No. While many driver improvement courses are all text or contain very little video, our course contains more video, interactive animations, and colorful graphics than many other courses on the market. Our students prefer this learning style to courses that are 100% reading!

I lost my login code. How can I get it back?

If you lose your login code, go to the course login page. You will see a link that says “I forgot my login code.” Click this link, then enter your e-mail address and click “Submit.” Your login code will be sent to that e-mail address. If you are unable to retrieve your login code, please contact us for assistance.

How long is the course?

The course requires a minimum of four hours to complete, but you can study at your own pace. You can log in and out as many times as you need, and we keep track of your progress so you never lose any of your work. You must complete the course within 180 days from your date of registration. After 180 days, your course access will be suspended.

Why do I have to answer security questions?

During registration, you will be required to answer a number of security questions (e.g. “Have you ever been to Europe?”). You will be asked the same questions again at random points in the course, and you will be required to respond correctly within a certain time. These questions are required to validate the identity of the person taking the course. If you miss three questions, you will be disqualified from the course and prompted to contact us for further instructions.

Does the course contain a final exam?

No, there is no final exam. At the end of each unit, you will be required to pass a short multiple choice quiz. You must score 70% or higher in order to go to the next unit. Each attempt has new questions and you will have an opportunity to review the unit material prior to each attempt.

What is your refund policy?

To request a refund, you must contact customer support at 1-800-558-9887 between 9:00 AM and 5:00 PM CST Monday through Friday, excluding holidays. Refund requests must be made within 90 days from the date of registration. If you successfully complete the course or are disqualified from the course for any reason, you will not be eligible for a refund.