TicketSchool > FAQs > New York FAQs

Is this online course approved by the New York DMV?

Yes, our Internet Point and Insurance Reduction Program (IPIRP) course that we offer is fully approved by the New York Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) as an equivalent to the 6-hour classroom PIRP course.

How long is the course?

The New York DMV requires that each IPIRP course contain at least 320 minutes of instruction. Timers are in place to ensure that each student spends the required minimum amount of time in the course.

New York law requires that the course be completed within 30 days from registration. If you do not complete the course within 30 days, you have the option to re-register for the course at no additional charge, but you will be required to start the course over from the beginning. You may re-register to obtain a new login code, and then contact us so we can transfer the payment to the new account.

Is the entire course online?

Yes, the entire course is online. You will not have to drive to a DMV office or defensive driving school location for any reason to complete the course.

How do I pay?

To begin the course you must pay via our website using a valid debit or credit card.

Is there a final exam?

No. The course does not have a final exam. At the conclusion of each unit you will be required to pass a five question quiz to proceed to the next unit. State rule requires a minimum score of 75% to pass a quiz. You will be given three (3) attempts to pass a unit quiz. If you fail the same unit quiz three times, you will be disqualified from continuing with the course and be required to re-register and take the course again from the beginning.

Will I receive proof that I completed the course?

Yes, after you complete the course, a certificate of completion will be sent to you via the mailing / shipping method you select. Without choosing an express delivery option, your certificate should be received within 7-10 business days from the date of course completion. You will need to turn the certificate in to your insurance company to obtain your 10% discount. Your completion will also be reported electronically to the DMV for the point reduction benefit.

Can the course be taken on a mobile device?

Yes. This course is “mobile friendly,” meaning that it can be taken on nearly any tablet, smartphone, or other type of mobile device that contains an Internet browser, as well as any desktop or laptop computer. The course is compatible with most Microsoft, Apple, and Android operating systems. For laptop or desktop users, we recommend using the latest version of the Mozilla Firefox browser (Mac or PC) or Internet Explorer browser (32-bit, PC only). For users of smartphones, tablets, or other devices, we recommend using the browser that comes installed with your device. The browser should be configured to support javascript and cookies should be enabled.

Does the course have to be completed in one sitting?

No. You will receive a login code during registration that allows you to log in and out of the course at any time from any device with Internet access. The course will automatically save your progress and knows the furthest unit and page you have reached, so that you can pick up at that point the next time you log in. Per DMV regulations, you must complete the course within 30 days from the date of registration. If you do not complete within the 30 days, you will be required to re-register and take the course again from the beginning.

How is the auto insurance reduction applied?

After turning in your completion certificate to your auto insurance company, a minimum 10% reduction will be applied to the base rate of the insurance premiums for your liability and collision insurance. This reduction will remain in effect for three years and you may renew it after each 3-year period has ended.

Will the course also reduce “insurance points”?

The point reduction benefit only applies to driving record points that are assigned by the DMV. Insurance companies have a separate set of points that they use to determine your rates. Taking the IPIRP course for point reduction will not have any effect on the points your insurance company assigns for crashes or violations. Also, taking the IPIRP course will not prevent or reduce the calculation of points affecting a “Driver Responsibility Assessment.”

How soon will the insurance reduction be applied?

If you turn in your completion certificate to your auto insurance provider within 90 days from the date of course completion, your liability and collision premium reduction will begin immediately. The discount will be applied retroactive to the date you completed the course. If you wait longer than 90 days to turn in your certificate, your insurer might just issue the premium discount effective from the date you present your certificate.

How often can I take the course for an auto insurance reduction?

The course can be taken once every 36 months (i.e. three years) for this purpose. You can take the course as many times as you wish to maintain your insurance discount.

Will this course prevent my auto insurance rate from increasing?

No, the 3-year, 10% insurance reduction applies to the base rate that is in effect at the time you complete the course, but taking the course will not prevent general premium increases or an increase in rates caused by crashes or violations.

Does the discount apply to other drivers named on my policy?

The insurance premium reduction applies to all motor vehicles principally operated by the motorist who completes the course. The reduction can be applied to only one driver for each covered vehicle.

Do teen drivers who participate in an assigned risk pool receive the insurance discount?

Yes. The discount applies to any insured driver who completes the course and is listed as the principal operator. That driver must have a driver’s license, not a learner’s permit.

Can a teen driver receive the insurance reduction while also receiving a driver ed discount?

This is determined by your insurance company or agent. Please contact them to determine whether an additional discount is to be granted.

What is meant by “point reduction”?

Point reduction means that the New York DMV will not count up to four points on your driving record toward license suspension or revocation. Point reduction can only be applied to points you received within the 18 months prior to completing the course; and it cannot be used as “credit” toward points from future tickets.

Point reduction will not reduce your point total lower than zero. For example, if you have three points on your record and you take the IPIRP course for point reduction, your total after completing the course will be zero.

How often can the course be taken for point reduction?

The course can only be taken once in any 18-month period for point reduction.

Do I have to notify the DMV to get my point reduction?

No, you do not have to notify the DMV. We (Driver Training Associates, Inc.), will notify the DMV once you have completed the course. The DMV will then note your completion on your driving record and will reduce your active point total by up to four points.

How many points will this course reduce on my New York driving record?

The course will reduce up to 4 points on your record. The actual number of points reduced will be determined by the DMV computer.

How does the course affect an already suspended / revoked license, or a pending suspension?

If your license has already been revoked or suspended, or if a violation hearing has already been scheduled, point reduction will not affect that action.

Will completing the IPIRP course remove violations or convictions from my driving record?

No. Your driving record will continue to show most violations, convictions, and the points associated with them for up to four years. Violations and convictions for drug or alcohol-related offenses will remain on your driving record for ten years.

What should I do if I have not received my certificate and need a duplicate copy?

We will provide you with a duplicate certificate of completion upon request at 1-800-558-9887. A $10 fee will be charged for duplicate certificates. This fee will be waived if the duplicate request is made within 60 days from certificate issuance (as long as the original was not received) AND no changes must be made to the certificate.

How will I know that I received credit for taking the course?

You can request a copy of your driving record from the DMV to verify that you have received credit for the course.

How can I get a copy of my New York driving record?

This can be requested from the New York DMV by completing a MV-15 form (“Request for Driver and / or Vehicle Record Information”), which can be obtained at any New York State motor vehicle office. This form can also be downloaded from the DMV internet office. If your course completion has not been noted on your driving record more than ten weeks after you completed the course, please contact us at 1-800-558-9887.

What do I need to do if I lose or forget my login name?

When you register for the course, you will receive your login name (example: John123456nys). If you happen to lose or forget this information, go to the login page and you will see a box that says “I forgot my login.” Enter your e-mail address into this box and then click the “remind me” button. An e-mail containing your login information will be sent to you. You may also call technical support at 1-800-558-9887.

What should I do if I am not receiving my account activation email?

The activation email may be going to your Junk or Spam folder. Please check there first. Otherwise, you can call technical support at 1-800-558-9887 to have it resent.

How do I move from one page to another in the course?

The course contains six units that must be completed one after the other. The required time for each page is different and is based on the amount of material or the video playing time for that page. At the bottom of each page, a countdown timer will show the amount of time remaining on the page. Once this timer has counted down to zero, you can click the yellow arrow pointing to the right to move to the next page.

Note: If you reach the end of a page before the timer counts down to zero, please be patient and wait for the timer to run down. State rule prohibits us from adjusting the page timers to allow you to move faster through the course!

The course will automatically save your progress and knows the furthest unit and page you have reached, so that you can pick up at that point the next time you log in.

Do you have customer service available?

Yes, we have customer service representatives available to you. For assistance, please call 1-800-558-9887 and choose the option for technical support with our New York course. You can also email us at

What is your refund policy?

We aren’t happy unless you are. If you aren’t satisfied with your course experience and wish to request a refund, please contact our customer service department at 1-800-558-9887 between 10:00 AM and 6:00 PM CST Monday through Friday, excluding holidays. We offer full refunds within 30 days from the date of registration as long as you have not successfully completed the course or were disqualified for failed validation or quiz questions.

Where can I find more PIRP Course Information?

Please consult the New York DMV’s C-32A brochure for complete information about the Point Insurance Reduction Program (PIRP).