girl reading a text message on mobile while driving

The state of Florida requires all first-time drivers to pass a drug and alcohol course or Traffic Law Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) course before getting their license. This applies to both teen drivers and adults getting their license for the first time. Ticketschool.com offers the Florida drug and alcohol test online. The full content of the four-hour course can, therefore, be accessed 24/7.

Passing the Florida drug and alcohol test is required for a good reason. Here, we will look at the rationale behind why all first-time drivers in Florida are required to pass it before getting their license.

It’s the Law

Under §322.095 of the Florida Statutes, driver’s license applicants must take a drug and alcohol awareness course that instructs them on:

  • The physiological and psychological consequences of substance abuse.
  • The costs of alcohol and drug abuse (economic and societal).
  • The effects of substance abuse on operating a motor vehicle.
  • State laws pertaining to operating a motor vehicle.

The law also calls for courses to be independently evaluated. Course providers must be certified to assure they comply with requirements. Other provisions deal with costs, accessibility, and the fact completing a drug/alcohol awareness course online or otherwise doesn’t reinstate a suspended/revoked license.

Drugs, Alcohol, and Driving Don’t Mix

Among drivers aged 16 and older, 207 million operated a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol in 2016, and 11.8 million did so while influenced by illicit drugs.1 The 2016 National Survey on Drug Use and Health also found drugged driving involves adults 18 to 25 years old more than those age 26 and older.

Drunk driving is a major problem in Florida. Between 2003 and 2012, nearly 8,500 people were killed in alcohol-related crashes.2 The rates are higher than the national average. Instructional programs have been found by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration to help prevent drunk driving.

As any alcohol or drug awareness course should point out, substances increase the risk of automobile crashes because they can:

  • Impair judgment
  • Slow reaction time
  • Decrease coordination
  • Trigger aggression and recklessness
  • Cause drowsiness and dizziness
  • Decrease attention span

First-time drivers are more at risk due to their lack of experience. It is more difficult for them to judge speed and distance. Teen drivers are less likely to recognize a dangerous situation, and drug use exacerbates the problem. Using a designated driver, getting a ride, and having discussions and education (including the drug and alcohol driving test required by law) on impaired driving are important.

Ticketschool.com’s Course Is Approved for First-Time Drivers

young teenage girl driving a car

Although not a free online drug and alcohol course, our program includes all the topics required by the state. The Traffic Law Substance Abuse Education course is focused on the dangers of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. It can be taken on any computer with an internet connection, including a smartphone, tablet, or another mobile device, with content including HD-quality videos.

This program is the 4-hour drug and alcohol course required for all first-time drivers in Florida. Rather than attending in-person, you can log in and out any time, as long as the course is completed within 180 days of registration. To learn more about and register for our Florida drug and alcohol test online, follow the instructions online or call toll-free at 800-558-9887.

Sources:

  1. https://www.drugabuse.gov/publications/drugfacts/drugged-driving
  2. https://www.cdc.gov/motorvehiclesafety/pdf/impaired_driving/Drunk_Driving_in_FL.pdf